Is it illegal not to use a turn signal on the road? (Blinking, blinking.) This is NC law
While driving, using a turn signal is the most effective way to communicate your intention to change lanes or turn to others on the road.
But some drivers in North Carolina don’t use them.
A Charlotte resident posted to Reddit This week, they are venting their frustration over the lack of turn signals used by drivers in the area.
“It makes me sick when people don’t use their turn signals,” the user said. “Can someone shed some light on this?”
Not using a turn signal on the road can cause serious accidents and inconvenience to other drivers – but does North Carolina law require them to be used? Here’s what you should know.
Does NC law require the use of turn signals?
Drivers We are Required to use turn signals In North Carolina.
State Law It says “before starting, stopping or turning from a straight line,” drivers “must ensure that such movement can be made safely,” and “whenever the operation of any other vehicle may be affected by such movement,” It should give a signal as required.“
What happens if you don’t use your turn signal?
Failure to use a turn signal is a form of “unsafe movement” In North Carolina, according to Jill’s law, a company based in Charlotte. Since it’s a moving violation, you can get it Points on your license and insurance If you are cited, the company says.
You may also face fines of up to hundreds of dollars if you cause injuries to others or property damage, according to state law:
Drivers who cause a motorcycle or bicycle to change lanes or leave the road may be fined $ 200
Drivers who cause an accident that results in property damage or injury to the motorcyclist, cyclist, or passengers can be fined 500 dollars
Drivers who cause property damage of more than $5,000, or serious bodily injury to the operator of a motorcycle or bicycle, or a passenger can be fined $750
What should you do if your turn signal is not working?
If your turn signal is not working properly, you can signal by opening the window and using your hand and arm, according to state law. Here are the motions you can use instead of a turn signal:
Left turn: The hand and arm are horizontal, with the index finger pointing
Turn right: The upper arm is horizontal, with the forearm and hand facing upward
Stop: The upper arm is horizontal, and the forearm and hand are directed downward
According to state law, hand and arm turn signals must be given from the left side of the vehicle, continuously at least 100 feet before stopping or turning.